Revised Thoughts On Perfectionism – Premium Hands

In poker there is an expression, ‘premium hands.’  These are hands that will be ahead of virtually any other hand pre-flop. A premium hand is usually a pair of Aces, Kings or Queens. The chances that you’ll be dealt a premium hand is 2%.

I recommend anybody to learn poker, not just because this blog post is redundant if otherwise, but it’s a great metaphor for life. Everybody gets dealt a particular set of circumstances, everybody is betting chips (time, money, talent etc.) on an outcome, and everybody wants to win in life.

I think a lot of my life i’ve only played premium hands. So 2% of the opportunities that I’ve been dealt.

Take dating for example. Up until recently I would only even start thinking about pursuing a girl who was:

  1. Extremely attractive
  2. Held identical values
  3. A connoisseur in dry British comedy
  4. Loved labs (both the dog or science type, no preference) 
  5. So fit
  6. A hiker
  7. Hawwwt
  8. Hawwwwwwt
  9. A creative type
  10. Fluent in Spanish/Italian/Code

Any other girls that I had a connection with but didn’t meet the pre-flight check list (to really drill home this poker symphony i’m going with..) I would fold. It would have to be perfect, before I would even be curious.

I think the key is to play more hands. The majority of hands are won without a premium hand. What makes it a winning hand is how you play it, not the hand itself.

Be curious. Be open. Be intrigued.  Be bold. Say yes. Or as Mandela said.. ‘Go with the flow Robbie my great friend.’

Play more hands, and read up on poker if this didn’t make any sense.

 

Further reading

‘Selfie’ – Will Storr, ‘Lost Connections’ – Johann Hari

Leave a comment